And hubby cooks the chicken!

She has been awake since 5 in the morning. Starting the day with the regular chores – taking care of extended family, preparing for husband’s day and readying her daughter for the school. “Rehaan!” she asked “Can you please drop Mehul to school today?”. “Not today”, he replied. “I’m busy with this presentation. Have to deliver it today.“ And she thought, for how long she’s to take this way. Turning on the ignition she thought if it was a tad better.

The thoughts kept on creeping during office hours as well. It was a long Friday and she never waited for weekend so long. While paying for chicken, she thought if there was someone with whom she felt comfortable with. She’s always tried to fill colors in the blank canvas even the day had been grey and dull. But not a single relationship tends towards infinity.

Mehul came running and smiling as she entered the home. “How was the day honey?”. “It was good moma! We tried colorbook today”. Rehaan was in the sofa working on his laptop. “What’s for dinner tonight?” he asked. “Got chicken”. And Rehaan commented “you better get some good stuff. Tomorrow is parent-teacher meeting”. “But ain’t you going for it?”. “Not this time. I’ve got this urgent work to finish by this weekend”.

Life seemed hollow to her. Lying at her sister’s home she was thinking ‘Why can’t there be a day of smiles with someone who cares for me’. There he was pondering in the kitchen while cooking chicken for his dinner ‘What did I do?’.

PS: The song in the background –
Here I am, lost in the light of the moon that comes through my window

Bathed in blue, the walls of my memory divides the thorns from the roses
It’s you and the roses…

Touch me and I will follow in your afterglow
Heal me from all this sorrow
As I let you go I will find my way when I see your eyes
Now I’m living in your afterglow…

Here I am, lost in the ashes of time, but who owns tomorrow?
In between the longing to hold you again
I’m caught in your shadow, I’m losing control
My mind drifts away, we only have today
Touch me and I will follow in your afterglow
Heal me from all this sorrow…

One thought on “And hubby cooks the chicken!

  1. Myra November 11, 2008 at 1:50 PM Reply

    Well written article.

Leave a Reply

