Do silly, not great things!

If people never did silly things, nothing intelligent would ever get done. – Ludwig Wittgenstein

I’m going through ‘Blue Ocean Strategy’ by Chan Kim and Renee Mauborgne. It’s an impressive read from two of the known scholars in the Business World. What fascinates me is that things mentioned there are not very out-of-the-box but overlooked ones. And that brings us to today’s topic – Gotta become great? Do silly, not great things!

And as Calvin thinks, there’s an inverse relationship…

Though Euro Cup is the flavor of the month, but I still like to read about Tennis. Roger Federer is The Master. He covers the court like a ballet dancer. But Novak Djokovic is winning the hearts it seems. His fan following growth rate is far above than the industry average it seems. I especially liked the humor he brings to the competitive and serious game. Have you ever seen the imitations he does? Watch out a couple at:
http://elgringocolombiano.blogspot.com/2007/09/novak-djokovics-imitations.html

And the most wonderful thing is his persona on and off the court seems to be the same. Check out his diaries at the below link (These do tell something about the guy! Don’t they?).

http://www.novak-djokovic.com/eng/diary_list.php

These days am thinking to take up doing silly things; maybe every first Friday of the month. I’ve made the Eliminate-Reduce-Raise-Create grid for charting blue oceans of silliness. I would like to have the ideas from you, readers, to add to my grid.

PS: Song on lappy – A Thousand Miles (Vanessa Carlton)
Making my way downtown,Walking fast,Faces passed,And I’m home bound.

Staring blankly ahead,Just making my way,Making my way,Through the crowd.
And I need you, And I miss you, And now I wonder…
If I could fall, Into the sky; Do you think time, Would pass me by
‘Cause you know I’d walk, A thousand miles If I could, Just see you… Tonight!

Leave a Reply

