Basera

And nobody told me of Property Boom 😦

Yours truely thought of buying a house… errrr sorry a 2 BR flat. Since in Delhi my budget won’t even buy me a bathroom, I made a move towards South West – Gurgaon. Gurgaon, as everyone, knows is the BPO and the millenium city. Sahu was telling me that everyone is running there to buy a property. Rumors are that even Dubya is hunting for something over there.

So this flat was at 9th floor. Still under construction, the property dealer smilingly told about the property being Vastu compliant. I was wondering what is meant by this compliance. Hearing my thoughts, the dealer promptly mentioned that the property is designed in a way so that the garbage fill is at the back of the premises and not at the front. Only then I realized how much thought process we Indians put in planning!

The layout was as if a 3 year old has placed 3 lego bricks alongside. I still wonder if this is called as modern design! And then came the bomb – Price. The dealer put on a face as if he’s telling some secret: “People are lining up for this deal. There is a huge demand in the market… blah blah blah”. The price – 45L for that 929 sq ft box that too with 4-5 hr power cut. As if in the morning seller’s wife told him today’s price is 40L! And this time Sahoo thought out loudly – what if a person gets stuck inside lift during a power cut? The dealer confidently told that helpline numbers of security and call centre will be there in the lift; thus providing 24 x 7 service. And I immediately realized we’re in a BPO city.

Phew! I told Sahu, “yaar, Don’t you think we’re at wrong place? I think we should look for some penthouse with a glass ceiling and a personal pool with ultra-high speed lifts”. We left the place with dealer following us, “Sir woh bhi arrange ho jayega”. I share the grief of a middle class man trying to own a house!
So after visits to 12 different sites, the author gladly shelved off the decision to buy a property. Instead, I’ve to now call the dealers to show me something on rent. And for the next few days it’ll be same old story – vastu compliance, power back up, water supply, security…. but this time for RENT!

Trodding alone, I ask myself why?

Smiles have wrinkles, the faces dry;

Journey is long, I wish I could fly,
I’ve to go, where earth meets the sky!

PS:
The question in mind is: If two apples or tomatoes are plucked from the same branch and packed together, what is the probability they’ll reach the same consumer? 🙂
Does anyone have an answer interesting? Do comment!

PPS:
kitni der tak tum baahar rukogi, kitni der tak mein rukuun yahaan

kitni der tak tum sochati rahog, yeh mein bhi dekhunga
kitni der tak tum, mujhe na kahogi, apane sheher aane ko
kitni der tak, dhundana hai bahaana, tumhe kisi bhi tarah chhune ka..
kitni der tak, kitni der tak, aaj shaam ya savere tak…

Rabbism 🙂

Leave a Reply

